Milk kefir is becoming a common sight on grocery store shelves and a popular probiotic drink. However, those with a strong intolerance to dairy may have to forego milk kefir. The good news is there are reduced dairy and dairy-free kefir options that are easy to make at home!
Download our Milk Kefir Guide and Recipe Book, which will teach you everything you need to know about making milk kefir at home. You'll learn how to make this delicious and nutritious probiotic drink and dozens of delicious recipes you can enjoy with your milk kefir.
OPTION #1: WATER KEFIR - A GREAT OPTION FOR NON-DAIRY KEFIR
WHAT IS DAIRY-FREE KEFIR?
HOW TO MAKE NON-DAIRY KEFIR?
Making water kefir is very similar to making dairy kefir, but instead of culturing milk, water kefir grains culture sugar water or fruit juice. Finished water kefir is quite versatile because It can be flavored in a variety of ways!
How-to Video: How to Make Water Kefir
There's something truly special about making your own dairy-free kefir. Not only are you in control of what goes into your body, but you also gain the satisfaction of creating something beneficial for your health. Plus, home-made non-dairy kefir can be customized to fit your personal taste preferences.
OPTION #2: COCONUT MILK VEGAN KEFIR - A DELICIOUS DAIRY-FREE PROBIOTIC
WHAT IS VEGAN KEFIR?
Coconut milk kefir, a popular alternative to dairy milk kefir, is a tangy coconut-flavored cultured milk. It can be cultured with very little or no dairy exposure.
HOW TO MAKE VEGAN KEFIR?
GO TO RECIPE: How to Make Coconut Milk Kefir.
Important to note when crafting non-dairy kefir, if using milk kefir grains to culture coconut milk, it's crucial that you return them to dairy milk intermittently. This action revitalizes them and keeps your kefir grains healthy.
Reminders In Making Non Dairy Kefir
If culturing coconut milk using milk kefir grains, it is important that you return them to dairy milk periodically, in order to revitalize them and keep the kefir grains healthy.
OPTION #3: COCONUT WATER KEFIR - A TRULY DAIRY FREE KEFIR
WHAT IS COCONUT WATER KEFIR?
Coconut water is a popular natural electrolyte drink. Coconut water kefir is a delicious cultured option for those who wish to avoid all traces of dairy but still want a probiotic drink.
HOW TO MAKE KEFIR DAIRY FREE?
To make coconut water kefir, you can culture fresh coconut water from young coconuts or pasteurized coconut water found in health food stores.
There are two starter culture options for making coconut water kefir: water kefir grains or kefir starter culture. Using water kefir grains ensures that there is no trace of dairy as there may be if you were to use milk kefir grains or the kefir culture starter.
LEARN MORE: Instructions on How to Make Coconut Water Kefir.
Remember, if using water kefir grains, it's necessary to activate the grains using sugar water. After the grains are producing satisfactory water kefir, they are ready to be used with coconut water. To maintain the health of your water kefir grains, alternate between coconut water and sugar water for each batch.
Besides the health benefits, the process of making non-dairy kefir at home also contributes to reducing waste from packaging, which is a small but significant step towards environmental sustainability. So, making kefir dairy free is not just about health, but also about contributing to a greener world.
Interested in learning how to make milk kefir at home? Download our free Milk Kefir Guide and Recipe Book today!
Ready to Learn More?