THE TWO TYPES OF KEFIR
There are two different types of kefir. Milk kefir, a probiotic beverage, is fairly well-known, and can be found in many grocery stores.
Each type of kefir has unique characteristics and is made slightly differently. If you're looking to add probiotics to your daily routine, see which of these fermented beverages is best for you!
Making kefir is easy and fun and click to download all our Cookbooks today as your guide in creating the perfect batch every time. You'll get milk and water kefir recipes, so you can select the one that's best for you. And we'll also show you how to flavor your kefir to perfection.
HOW KEFIR IS MADE
Milk Kefir is made with cow milk, goat milk, or coconut milk. It may also be made with other non-dairy milks, though results may be inconsistent. You will also need a starter culture, such as Milk Kefir Grains or a powdered Kefir Starter Culture.
WHAT KEFIR CONTAINS
Milk Kefir Grains are a traditional reusable starter culture used to make a probiotic-rich beverage with live active yeast and bacteria. Our Milk Kefir Grains are propagated in organic milk.
Water Kefir Grains are a traditional reusable starter culture used to make a dairy-free cultured beverage with live active yeast and bacteria. Our Water Kefir Grains are grown in organic sugar and filtered water.
HOW KEFIR TASTES
Milk Kefir tastes like a cultured milk. The taste of any particular batch depends on the level of fermentation. Well-fermented kefir can have a strong sour or tart taste and can even be a bit carbonated. Shorter fermentation can yield a more mild flavor.
Water Kefir tends to have a sweet, slightly fermented flavor. Most people prefer flavored water kefir.
HOW KEFIR IS FLAVORED
Water Kefir can be flavored using fresh or dried fruit, flavor extracts such as vanilla, fruit juice, or even herbs.
OTHER WAYS TO USE KEFIR
Water Kefir can be added to non-dairy milk to make a non-dairy kefir (use ¼ cup water kefir in 2-3 cups non-dairy milk). Extra water kefir grains may be used as starter culture for fermenting vegetables. Extra water kefir can be used as a booster for making gluten-free sourdough starter.
Download your free Cookbooks and start making delicious and nutritious kefir today!
Ready to Learn More?
- Choosing a Kefir Culture: Grains vs. Direct-set Starter
- HOW-TO VIDEO: Activating Dehydrated Milk Kefir Grains
- HOW-TO VIDEO: Activating Dehydrated Water Kefir Grains
- Busting Water Kefir Myths: 10 Common Misconceptions Debunked
- How to Find Milk Kefir Grains
- Everything You Need to Know About Making Almond Milk Kefir
- The Complete Milk Kefir Glossary: Making Milk Kefir from A to Z